March 29, 2012

 

Good News for Engineers:
Building Canada Fund Maintained until 2014 -
Some New Infrastructure Programs Revealed

 

The Honourable
James Flaherty,
Minister of Finance

Today the Minister of Finance, James Flaherty, released the 2012/2013 federal budget: Jobs, Growth and Long-Term Prosperity.  ACEC was invited to participate in a limited access stakeholder Budget Lock-up in Centre Block on Parliament Hill.  This was a private, closed door session with Senior Political Staff from Finance Minister Flaherty’s Office and Senior Officials from the Department of Finance.  This opportunity provided ACEC with a unique chance to discuss the Budget implications with key decision makers before the Minister of Finance presented the Budget on the floor of the House of Commons.

Highlights

  • $33 billion Building Canada Fund maintained
  • Over $480 million in new infrastructure programs over the next two years
  • Reduction of red-tape and government approvals process
  • Tax credits for small businesses
  • Balanced budget expected by 2015/2016

Infrastructure

ACEC was pleased to learn that the seven year $33 billion Building Canada Fund will continue until 2014. It is estimated that approximately $5 billion remains for 2012/2013 and 2013/2014. At a time of fiscal restraint, this is good news.


ACEC is currently working with Infrastructure Canada to develop a new, long-term program for infrastructure which will likely be released in 2014 when the Building Canada Fund expires. The initiative is being led by Infrastructure Canada and ACEC is an active partner.


In other good news, the government has maintained the legislated Gas Tax Fund which allocates $2-billion annually to infrastructure for municipalities.

New Programs

The government has committed to modernize Canada’s public infrastructure with the following new programs:

  • $150 million over two years for a new Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund to support repairs and improvements to existing community facilities

  • $105 million in 2012–13 on a cash basis to support VIA Rail Canada’s operations and capital projects

  • $27.3 million over two years to support the divestiture of regional ports and the continued operation and maintenance of federally owned ports
  • $5.2 billion over the next 11 years on a cash basis to renew the Canadian Coast Guard fleet

  • $101 million over the next five years on a cash basis to restore and modernize the Esquimalt Graving Dock

In addition, the government will be introducing amendments to the Yukon Act, the Northwest Territories Act and the Nunavut Act to create new regulations that will ensure consistent treatment of borrowing across the three territories and with their Public Accounts.


These amendments improve access to capital for the Territorial governments, potentially allowing further investments in areas such as public infrastructure and real property.


Investments to Improve First Nations Water Infrastructure

The Economic Action Plan 2012 proposes $330.8 million over two years to build and renovate water infrastructure on reserve and to support the development of a long-term strategy to improve water quality in First Nations communities.


This is a fairly sizable new program and good news for firms in the area of water infrastructure.


Reducing Red Tape

Streamlining government processes was a central theme in this budget.


Natural Resource Development

The government is proposing legislation to streamline the review process for major economic projects in the area of natural resource development. The Major Projects Management Office Initiative will be renewed for two years ($54 million) to assist with the improvement of approval processes.


This initiative will help member firms to expedite projects with few environmental risks since they will no longer be subject to the same approval requirements as complex projects.


In addition, $165 million has been allocated over the next two years for responsible resource development that will create jobs while protecting the environment.


The Red Tape Commission

In January 2011, the Government created the Red Tape Reduction Commission, fulfilling a Budget 2010 commitment. After a year of extensive Canada-wide consultations, the Commission brought forward recommendations to reduce irritants to business that impede growth, competitiveness and innovation.

The Government responded earlier this year by implementing the “One-for-One” Rule. Under this rule, every time the Government adopts a new regulation, it must eliminate an existing one. When a new or amended regulation increases administrative burden on business, the Government will offset—from existing regulations—an equal amount of administrative burden costs on business.

The President of the Treasury Board will develop an Action Plan to address the Commission’s Recommendations Report in the coming months to deliver better regulations that reduce frustration and lower costs for Canadian business.

Incentives for Small Business

The Economic Action Plan 2012 proposes a $205 million fund to extend the temporary Hiring Credit for Small Business for one year. In addition, the government intends to promote the involvement of small and medium-sized enterprises in shipbuilding projects.

International Trade

The government is going to continue to actively pursue new trade and investment opportunities, particularly with large, dynamic and fast-growing economies. Trade relationships will continue to grow with the United States, China, the European Union, India, Trans-Pacific and Asia-Pacific regions, the Americas and Africa.


ACEC will be monitoring the trade agreements in all of these areas to ensure that the procurement process does not preclude or prevent the use of the Qualifications-Based Selection. ACEC is currently actively monitoring the negotiations for the EU Trade Agreement and the Trans-Pacific Partnership.


Balancing the Budget

The government remains on track to balance the budget by 2015-2016 and possibly sooner. The largest area of cuts in this budget is within the federal service itself.

The deficit in 2011–12 is projected to be $8.5 billion lower than it was in 2010–11, and it is projected to decrease by an additional $3.8 billion in 2012–13. The deficit is projected to continue to decline to $1.3 billion in 2014–15.

Over the forecast period, the budgetary balance is projected to improve by a total of $39.6 billion compared to the November 2011 Update of Economic and Fiscal Projections.

As a share of gross domestic product (GDP), program expenses are projected to decline from 14.7 per cent in 2010–11 to 12.7 per cent in 2016–17, which represents a return to pre-recession spending ratios.

The federal debt is projected to decline to 28.5 per cent of GDP in 2016–17, in line with its pre-recession level.

Useful Links

This document has been prepared by ACEC for the convenience of its member firms. To consult the official budget documents, please visit Finance Canada.

The Globe and Mail also provides a strong budget analysis.


 

Sincerely,

John Gamble, CET, P.Eng.
President

Association of Consulting Engineering
Companies | Canada
420 - 130 Albert St., Ottawa ON K1P 5G4
Tel.: 1-800-565-0569 Fax: (613) 236-6193
www.acec.ca

Le 30 mars 2012

 

Bonnes nouvelles pour les ingénieurs :
Le fonds Chantiers Canada est maintenu jusqu'en 2014 –
Quelques nouveaux programmes
d'infrastructure sont annoncés

 

L'honorable
James Flaherty,
ministre des finances

Le ministre des Finances, James Flaherty, a présenté aujourd’hui son budget 2012/2013 : Emplois, croissance et prospérité à long terme.  L’AFIC a été invitée à participer à une séance donnée à un auditoire limité, avec interdiction de sortie du budget de la salle de presse, sur la colline du Parlement.  Cette séance privée a été organisée à huis clos avec du personnel politique cadre du bureau du ministre Flaherty et des officiels du ministère des Finances.  Cette séance fut aussi une occasion unique pour l’AFIC de discuter des implications du budget avec des décideurs clés avant la présentation du budget par le ministre à la Chambre des communes.

Faits saillants

  • Maintien du fonds Chantiers Canada de 33 milliards de dollars
  • Plus de 280 millions de dollars en nouveaux programmes d’infrastructure sur les deux prochaines années
  • Réduction du fardeau bureaucratique et simplification des processus d’approbation du gouvernement
  • Des crédits d’impôt pour les petites entreprises
  • Un budget équilibré d’ici 2015/2016

Infrastructure

L’AFIC a été heureuse d’apprendre que le fonds Chantiers Canada, un programme de sept ans et de 33 milliards de dollars, sera poursuivi jusqu’en 2014. On estime qu’il reste environ 5 milliards de dollars pour 2012/2013 et 2013/2014. Dans un contexte de restrictions budgétaires, cette annonce est une bonne nouvelle.


L’AFIC travaille présentement avec Infrastructure Canada pour élaborer un nouveau programme d’infrastructure à long terne qui sera vraisemblablement annoncé lorsque le fonds Chantiers Canada aura pris fin en 2014. Cette initiative, dont l’AFIC est un partenaire actif, est menée par Infrastructure Canada.


Parmi les autres bonnes nouvelles, le gouvernement a maintenu le Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence qui affecte 2 milliards de dollars annuellement aux infrastructures municipales.

Nouveaux programmes

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à moderniser l’infrastructure publique du Canada avec les nouveaux programmes suivants :

  • un financement de 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour un nouveau fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire afin d’appuyer les travaux de réparation et d’amélioration d’installations communautaires existantes;
  • un financement de 105 millions de dollars en 2012-2013, selon la comptabilité de caisse, pour appuyer les opérations et les projets d’immobilisations de Via Rail Canada; 
  • un financement de 27,3 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour appuyer la cession de ports régionaux ainsi que la poursuite du fonctionnement et des activités d’entretien des ports fédéraux; 
  • un financement de 5,2 milliards de dollars sur les 11 prochaines années, selon la comptabilité de caisse, pour renouveler la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne;
  • un financement de 101 millions de dollars, selon la comptabilité de caisse, sur les cinq prochaines années pour restaurer et moderniser la Cale sèche d'Esquimalt.

De plus, des modifications de la Loi sur le Yukon, de la Loi sur les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de la Loi sur le Nunavut visant la création de nouveaux règlements qui garantiront un traitement uniforme des emprunts des trois territoires, notamment dans les comptes publics, ont été annoncées;


Ces modifications augmentent l'accès à des capitaux par les gouvernements des Territoires, ce qui peut permettre d'autres investissements en projets d'infrastructures publiques et en projets immobiliers.


Investissements pour améliorer les infrastructures hydrauliques des Premières nations

Le plan d’action économique 2012 propose 330,8 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années pour construire et rénover les infrastructures hydrauliques dans les réserves, ainsi que pour soutenir l’élaboration d’une stratégie à long terme pour l’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau dans les collectivités des Premières nations.


Ce nouveau programme de taille est aussi une bonne nouvelle pour les firmes qui se spécialisent en infrastructures hydrauliques.


Réduction des formalités administratives

La rationalisation des processus administratifs du gouvernement figurait parmi les thèmes centraux du budget.

Développement des ressources naturelles

Le gouvernement propose introduire une nouvelle réglementation pour simplifier le processus d’examen des grands projets dans le domaine du développement des ressources naturelles. L’initiative du Bureau de gestion des grands projets sera renouvelée pour deux ans (54 millions de dollars) pour aider à améliorer les processus d’approbation.


Cette initiative aidera les membres à accélérer leurs projets avec peu de risques environnementaux puisqu'ils ne seront plus assujettis aux mêmes exigences d'approbation que celles imposées à des projets complexes.


De plus, un budget de 165 millions de dollars a été alloué, pour les deux prochaines années,  au développement responsable de ressources dans le but de créer des emplois tout en protégeant l’environnement.

La Commission de réduction des formalités administratives

En janvier 2011, le gouvernement a établi la Commission de réduction des formalités administratives pour faire suite à un engagement qu’il avait fait dans son budget 2010. Après une année de consultations exhaustives partout au Canada, la Commission a présenté des recommandations visant à réduire les irritants, pour le milieu des affaires, qui freinent la croissance, la compétitivité et l’innovation.

Plus tôt cette année, le gouvernement a réagi à ces recommandations en appliquant la règle du « un pour un ». Selon cette règle, chaque fois que le gouvernement adopte un nouveau règlement, il doit supprimer un règlement existant. Quand un nouveau règlement ou un règlement modifié accroît le fardeau administratif des entreprises, les organismes de réglementation seront tenus de compenser – à partir de leurs règlements en vigueur – par une somme équivalente des coûts du fardeau administratif pour les entreprises.

Au cours des prochains mois, le président du Conseil du Trésor développera un plan d’action qui tiendra compte des recommandations de la Commission afin d’adopter des règlements qui réduiront les frustrations et les coûts pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Incitatifs pour les petites entreprises

Le plan d’action économique 2012 propose un fonds de 205 millions de dollars afin de prolonger d’un an le crédit temporaire à l’embauche pour les petites entreprises. De plus, le gouvernement s’est engagé à promouvoir la participation de petites et moyennes entreprises dans des projets de construction navale.

Commerce international

Le gouvernement continuera de poursuivre activement de nouvelles occasions de commerce et d’investissement, particulièrement auprès d’importantes économies dynamiques à croissance rapide. Nos relations commerciales vont continuer de croître avec les États-Unis, la Chine, l’Union européenne, l’Inde, la région transpacifique, la région de l’Asie-Pacifique, les Amériques et l’Afrique.


L’AFIC suivra de près nos accords commerciaux avec toutes ces régions pour s’assurer que le processus de passation de marchés n’empêche ni n’exclut l’utilisation de la sélection basée sur les compétences. L’AFIC surveille activement les négociations en vue de l’établissement de l’Accord de commerce avec l’Union européenne et du Partenariat transpacifique.


Un budget équilibré

Le gouvernement entend toujours équilibrer son budget d’ici 2015-2016, et peut-être même plus tôt. Les plus importantes coupures budgétaires ont été faites dans les coûts du service public.

Selon les projections, le déficit en 2011-2012 sera de 8,5 milliards de dollars inférieur à ce qu’il était en 2010-2011, et devrait encore baisser de 3,8 milliards en 2012-2013. Le déficit devrait continuer de diminuer pour s’établir à 1,3 milliard de dollars en 2014-2015.

Au cours de la période visée par les prévisions, le solde budgétaire devrait progresser au total de 39,6 milliards de dollars par rapport aux données de la Mise à jour des projections économiques et financières de novembre 2011

Les charges de programmes en pourcentage du produit intérieur brut (PIB) devraient reculer, passant de 14,7 % en 2010-2011 à 12,7 % en 2016-2017, ce qui correspond au ratio avant la récession.

La dette fédérale devrait diminuer pour s’établir à 28,5 % du PIB en 2016-2017, ce qui correspond au niveau enregistré avant la récession. 

Liens utiles

Ce document a été préparé par l’AFIC pour ses firmes membres. Pour consulter les documents officiels du budget, allez Finance Canada.

L'Ordre des CGA du Québec a aussi préparé une excellente analyse du budget.


 

Mes meilleurs salutations,

John Gamble, CET, P.Eng.

Président

l'Association des firmes
d'ingénieurs - conseils | Canada
420 - 130 rue Albert, Ottawa ON K1P 5G4
Tél.: 1-800-565-0569 Fax: (613) 236-6193
www.acec.ca